VIDEO: Makeup and Coffee– Bold Lips and Bold Roast in Morningside Park

Most days, I take my coffee bold and black. No sweetener, no cream. My friend Clair tells me that only psychopaths take black coffee, and that she’ll add cream because she loves herself. Nonetheless, bold flavor is appreciated. Similarly, so is a bold lip.

This Saturday morning, my cat Bruce Wayne woke me up at 6 am to feed him. Reluctant and sleepy, I filled his bowl. But, unable to catch another z, I decided to go for coffee and do my makeup in Morningside Park.

More days than not, I wear red lipstick. I love the way it makes me feel, bold and yet classic. So, I petered over to Double Dutch Espresso, grabbed an ice coffee to go, and went to Morningside Park.

The air was crisp and the sky was overcast. Here’s a run-through of the look you’ll find in the video.

Screen Shot 2017-05-21 at 9.37.21 AM
That concentration, tho.

Face

I put on some form of sunscreen every morning. I’ve been using the Andalou Naturals BB Perfecting Beauty Balm in Natural. It has a sun protection factor of 30. It’s a good, every day sunscreen and gives zero to light coverage. The Glossier sunscreen is on my wish list, but I want to wait until the hype dies down.

Then, I used the Pacifica Concealer on blemishes, and powder to set it. I love this concealer, but it’s not my favorite. My absolute favorite is the Studio 78 concealer, but it’s a bitch to travel with because I broke the lid. I like, but do not love the powder. I’m just using it up.

I’d like to take a separate line to say that natural and organic brands never make enough shades of makeup. It’s not an opinion. It’s a fact.

Screen Shot 2017-05-21 at 9.38.01 AM
I promise, I’ll look happier the next time I film.

Eyes

I think red lips look good on a bare face, but since I don’t like or wear mascara, I lined my eyes to give them a bit of definition. I roughly ran the Mineral Fusion Eye Pencil in Touch, a sparkly toupe-y brown, along my upper lashes and flicked it out.

Using the same pencil, I turned it upwards and lined the outer third of the lower lash line.

Then I used the Rimmel London Exaggerate Eye Pencil in Copper Bling really close to the lashes and in the outer corner. But NOT above the outer corner. It’s not a cat eye. (see video)

Screen Shot 2017-05-21 at 9.38.29 AM
Never cease to stun.

Lips and Cheeks

The bold and the beautiful. Kosas lipsticks are my holy grail. I own almost every color. I used Thrillest and Fringe on my lips to get a really lived-in, effortless red lip. I reapplied twice yesterday, but they lasted really well and I got a ton of compliments on the look.

I used both on my cheeks as well. I messily used my fingers to blend Thrillest up the cheek bone, and I tried to place Fringe on the center of my cheek. Nothing too perfect, no brushes for this part.

I hope you all slept in longer than I did. Bruce and I wish you a stellar weekend. xx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

