VIDEO: Getting Ready and Wayside Coffee Bar, Union Square

This morning I decided to film myself getting ready before I went to meet with some realtors in the East Village.

I started my morning, as I start every morning, with coffee. I recently bought this brewing cone from Melitta and I love it. I feel like since it’s small and I’m only making one cup, it helps my coffee grounds last longer. Today I brewed Amaretto flavored coffee from The Coffeehouse, lit a candle, did my makeup, and was off to explore New York City’s Greenwich Village before I went to work.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 2.14.25 PM.pngSunscreen, Concealer, Powder

It’s officially summer which means that we can all rest assured that we’ll be melting the moment we step outside. I’ve also been breaking out like crazy. I think it’s because of a setting spray that I was using to try to combat the heat. My skin hasn’t been this bad in a while, so I’m going back to a simple, nourishing skin care routine. In the mean time, I don’t want my makeup to look like a mask, so I’m using concealers only where I need them. Of course, I like to wear sunscreen, and I set it all with powder.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 2.14.41 PM.pngFor the eyes, I mixed two eyeliners around the lash line and smudged them out with a light brown color from Silk Naturals called Stag. I’ve tried Glossier Boy Brow, but I honestly think the NYX Brow Mascara is the same thing.

It’s obscenely hot in New York City right now. Obscene because if I could, I’d rip my clothes off. But, since that’s illegal, I wore jeans and a millennial pink shirt and belt. I get most of my clothes from thrift shops. Thrifting is the best way to shop in New York, in my opinion, because most of the second hand stores have unused, never worn clothes at a steal.

Wayside Coffee Bar:

Overall: 7/10

Power Outlets: Plenty.Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 2.06.47 PM.png

Wi-Fi: Yes. No password.

Noise Level: Couldn’t tell.

Coffee: Good and not too bold.

Bathrooms: Yes, small.

Seating: Plenty of stools and a few tables.

Hours: 7:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.

Bookstore: No.

Patrons: Random.

Music Playing:

Wayside is a small but well-run coffee bar on the corner of 3rd Avenue and 12th Street. It’s across from my freshman dorm but it’s new enough to not remember my first year of college. The coffee roasted is Toby’s Estate, a common brew on the island. I rank it above Brooklyn Roasters, but not quite as high as counter culture. The interior of Wayside is lined with bars and stools for working on computers, the wifi has no password, and the simple, minimal lines make it appear larger than it otherwise would be.

When I went into the shop around 11:30 am, no one else was there. I sat at a round table in the corner and opened my laptop. The barista apologetically notified me that patrons can only work on computers on the side bars, at the request of the owner.

Dear owner,

That’s a stupid request.

Love, Grace

 

Leave a Reply

