June Favorites

Copy of Copy of Makeup inHello Little Blogophere!

I’m going to start this as a month to month breakdown of what I’ve been loving. I’m going to make two categories: coffee shops and beauty. I hope you enjoy and let me know what you’ve been loving too.

xx Grace

Favorite June Coffee Shop

IMG_2961
Inside the Little Bean

Little Bean

Hands down, my favorite coffee shop that I reviewed in June was Little Bean on Lenox Avenue. June was a month full of drippy, overcast days in New York City, and I enjoyed spending a humid morning hour in Little Bean. It’s high ceilings and blue tile counters are sure to brighten any day.

Be sure to read the full review here.

Beauty Favorites (see video to watch in action)

June was the month that I discovered a love for Glossier. I fell into the cookie-driven YouTube rabbit hole of Glossier reps using Glossier products on their already perfect skin.

And that’s the stick. Does your skin already have to be good to use and like Glossier?

I do a lot of research before I buy a product. As someone with really sensitive, acne-prone skin, I can’t just slap anything on my face. I read the ingredients before I read the claims.

If you have sensitive skin you may want to avoid these ingredietns commonly linked to irritation:

  • mineral oil
  • dimethicone
  • silicone
  • fragrance
  • and anything you can’t pronounce

I was hesitant of Glossier because, for years I’ve used 100 percent natural, green beauty brands like W3ll People, Studio 78, Juice Beauty, and I love those brands. And Glossier, is not 100 percent green or 100 percent free of the ingredients I tend to avoid. But, there’s something girly, and millennial, and fun about Emily Weiss’s brainchild. I’ve read Into the Gloss on and off since I was 19, and I just wanted to try everything.

That being said, I haven’t tried everything from Glossier, but my current loves include…

Mega Greens Galaxy Pack – 10/10

I don’t hear much about this product and I’ve read one meh review by a popular beauty guru, but I love this clay mask. It’s kaolin based, and usually I find kaolin too drying, but not this one. It has a slight green tint, and leaves skin feeling calm and moisturized. It’s chock full of greens and like spinach, parsley, and cress sprout and it has a distinct effect. First, it warms, then it cools.

I give it a 10/10 but I hope I don’t go through it like candy.

Price: $22

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 3.32.19 PM.pngStretch Concealer in Medium 8/10

I read and watched and lusted after this product for a while, hoping it wouldn’t break me out when I finally tried it. It is, hands down, the best skin product I’ve ever used. I was pleasantly surprised that the Glossier concealer is nothing like the RMS concealer (I like the RMS Un-cover up, but it’s thick and slides around my face).

The stretch concealer feels like a liquid and looks like a dream. It leaves skin looking like skin (its number one claim), glowing, and probably too dewy in the t-zone. It does not crease under the eyes, and covers redness well. Big, bad blemishes will need something thicker.

I should also say that I won’t try the skin tint because it contains dimethicone…

Price: $18

IMG_3049The Lip Gloss 6/10

If you’re going for lips that resemble a glazed doughnut, look no further. The Glossier lip gloss is a 90s nostalgic that will leave you as-iffing like Cher from Clueless and longing for your own cartoon caricature commentary a la Lizzy Maguire.

I give it a 6 out of 10 because it is sticky, despite claims to be stick-free.

Price: $14

TokyoMilk Dark Perfume in Arsenic No. 17

I used to be fruity, floral teenager, floating around and smelling like Victoria’s Secret Lovespell. Then I graduated to Chloe Perfume, and even Joe Malone. But, TokyoMilk’s Arsenic is a cool girl’s perfume. From the Femme Fatale collection, the black bottle boasts a white beetle, and smells of a mysterious sophisticate. It is a heavy and deep scent with notes of Absinthe, Vanilla Salt, Cut Greens, and Crushed Fennel.

Tokyo Milk has both a dark and light

IMG_3051.JPG

line. Arsenic is part of the dark line, which are all Eau de Parfum rather than the light Eau de Toilettes.

Price:  $42

Leave a Reply

