Smoothie & Skincare (Glossier, Acure, Herbivore etc.)

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 11.28.55 AM.pngIf you commit to reading this post, fair warning, it’s a long one. But pay attention to the headings if you’re looking for a specific section/review.

The reason I pair a smoothie recipe with a skincare routine is obvious and yet, not obvious at all. I hate to chime into the chorus, but what you eat has a lot to do with the clarity and texture of your skin. That being said, life is short. Eat the pizza if it calls to you.

For those of us with sensitive, acne-prone skin, it’s a tricky game. Personally, I can’t always afford to eat well. It’s become a sad and true fact of the modern world that you have to have money to eat healthfully. Fresh produce is expensive, potatoes are cheap. Wellness has become a symbol of wealth, a positional good. I was just reading an article on Man Repeller about this idea that I’ll link here.

In any case, smoothies are a good and wallet-friendly breakfast or snack.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 10.46.33 AM.pngSmoothie Recipe:

  • About 1 Cup Frozen fruit (your choice, but I think berries have the most health benefits)
  • A few leaves (spinach)
  • A dash of tumeric powder (a great, anti-inflammatory spice that’s multi-purpose in cooking)
  • A peppering of Cayenne pepper (you can’t taste it, I swear, but good for digestion)
  • A smidgeon of ceylon cinnamon (it’s organic, yo)
  • Then cover the mixture with Coconut Milk.
  • And Blend.

Skincare for the Sensitive (Souls)

Having a skincare routine is an important and well-thought out ritual for me. When I was younger I had relatively bad acne. I never went on Accutane, but I searched high and low for options, eventually finding that organic and natural skincare worked best for me.

Cleanser

Ah, cleanser, the step 1… Since I wear makeup, I wash my face twice.

IMG_3140
$18 USD

~ Milky Jelly Cleanser ~

 

First I wash with the Glossier Milky Jelly Cleanser, a very emollient, oil-like cleanser. I used to use just an oil cleanser like the Josie Maran Argan Cleansing Oil but Glossier is a deep, dark rabbit hole of attractive aesthetic, and while I have mixed feelings about the Milky Jelly Cleanser, I use it every day and will use it until its gone. I’ve read and researched its ingredients on the EWG Skin Deep Cosmetic Database and feel comfortable with what I found.

~Intense Defense with Vitamin C Cleansing Gel~

IMG_3150.JPG
$12.99 USD

My second, deeper cleanser is by Avalon Organics. It smells like oranges, which I hate, but it works wonders. Aloe-based with brightening ingredients like lemon peel extract and bergamot fruit oil, this is a drug store find with some serious credentials. It lathers, but not too much and never strips the skin, but leaves it feeling clean and cleansed.

Treatments & Serums & Masks (Oh My)

From all that I’ve learned, I can tell you that there are two common ingredients for fighting acne: salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide. Some people respond better to one over the other. There are natural forms of salicylic acid including willow bark and, funnily enough, berries. Benzoyl peroxide does not have a natural form, as far as I am aware.

 

IMG_3141.JPG
$14.99 USD

~Acure Organics Rose + Red Tea Toner~

Toner is a step that I just recently added to my routine. The idea behind toner is that it balances the ph of your skin. While most cleansers are basic, most toners are acidic and thus rebalances skin. I like the Acure Organics Balancing Rose and Red Tea toner because it doesn’t burn. It’s organic, made with witch hazel and rose water. It has very few ingredients but manages to include rooibos which is packed with antioxidants.

IMG_3142.JPG
$36 USD

~La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo~

I’ve been trying to find a natural alternative to this for years, but there’s something special about this French Pharmacy Product that can’t be recreated. I’ve used this since I was 18. It’s not quite a serum and definitely not a moisturizer. It’s an acne treatment with benzoyl peroxide. I smooth it over my face after cleansing and it just helps my skin look less red and keeps it semi-clear.

IMG_3147.JPG
$14.99 USD

~Andalou Naturals Fruit Enzyme Mask~

The BioActive 8 Berry Fruit Enzyme Face Mask is a serious jelly. It looks like grape jelly, smells like grape jelly, and is sticky af, like grape jelly. I find that Andalou Naturals is a safely green brand. All the ingredients are readable and clear, and the products are effective. This mask is marketed as anti-aging. I find it works well as an exfoliating mask, the enzymes break down dead skin cells. It does make my face red so I reserve it for night use only.

IMG_3145.JPG
$22 USD

~Mega Greens Galaxy Pack Detoxifying Face Mask~

Another Glossier gem. I put this in my June favorites as well, but this is really a skin calming savior. It’s marketed as ‘detoxifying’ which is a scary word since it’s usually synonymous with drawing out impurities and bringing gross stuff to skin’s surface, but I find that this is never drying, never irritating. It gets a straight up 10/10.

Moisturizers & Night Creams & Oils

IMG_3144
$25 USD

~Priming Moisturizer ~

Shock and Awe, another Glossier product. I hated the Priming Moisturizer when I first bought it, and admittedly, it was in my medicine cabinet for a year before I used it again. But, second time is a charm. It’s white with a lotion consistency and features some of my favorite skin ingredients like hyaluronic acid and vitamins A, C, and E. It makes skin noticeably less red and creates a hydrated base for makeup. A+

IMG_3149
$58 USD

~Herbivore Moon Fruit Night Cream~

Herbivore’s Moon Fruit Superfruit night treatment smells truly putrid. But, honestly the grossest smelling products usually have the most natural and raw ingredients. In the past, I used the Sunday Riley Luna Oil, and it smelled equally as funk. This has such an incredible list of ingredients like prickly pear oil, goji berry, and red raspberry seed oil. It’s packed with antioxidants (super important for city dwellers) and actually dries down matte on the skin. Best of all, it’s ~purple~ 

Note: I’ve recently added a serum into my routine but I’m not sure how I it works with my skin yet. Review to come…

Leave a Reply

